Week 11

What’s inside:

  • The Modern Musician’s Toolkit
  • Project Idea Confirmed!

I know all you avid readers will be disappointed, but there’s no awesome song or video to entertain you this week made in class… I might include a sneaky link to a remix I made for another class this week at the end, but I digress.

Auralia and Musition


Auralia and Musition are a pair of software programs designed to facilitate theoretical teaching and learning. I like to think of them as the online Blitz books for classroom music theory and beyond. Both programs are a fantastic supplement to theory activities inside the classroom, or even as a substitute! Auralia is the auditory side – the activities you usually sit there listening to your teacher at the piano or a CD while you identify chord quality or interval size etc. Musition is the visual side – the typical theory sheets on rhythmic notation, chord progressions etc. However, what makes these programs more than just your average Dulcie Holland-esque theory based education is the way that you can design units of work around technology, rather than the traditional and boring workbook method. There are a number of accessible syllabi already pre-created, such as NSW and Vic. curricula, and you can create your own too.

I think the program is a fantastic solution to teaching in this digital age (pandemic aside) where being able to assign a quiz and have it immediately marked and being able to simply transfer confirmed results into your markbook. Any time you put into creating and customising your syllabus, whether that’s creating extension tasks for your insanely advanced 8th grade violinist in year 8, or creating a catch-up resource for a student who has just moved interstate, you’ll save not having to mark seven sets of classes weekly quizzes or topic tests.

Honestly I can’t think of any drawbacks to this software – there’s just so much that is amazing! Definitely a fantastic resource to consider investing in for your schools, private students or music programs!

Project Confirmed!

Dreams are about to become reality, people! My idea to create a documentary on electronic music now officially has the Humbo stamp of approval. Now the challenge will be to get all of my ambitious ideas from dreams into reality. Stay tuned for a mid-week post where I start my project schedule plan and try to make myself accountable! With hope, making a plan and having you, my dearest readers, will help me have a better chance of making my enthusiastic ideas reality.

Bonus Content

2 thoughts on “Week 11

    1. If you have the credit points I recommend Music in Modern Times!! They cover the early electroacoustic composers in the last few weeks of the course :))

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started